Morning Coffee Ritual

My morning coffee ritual has changed since we’ve been home for COVID. I used to make my first coffee of the day in the office, but now I enjoy it at home.

I orchestrate my mornings to the tune of coffee.

Terri Guillemet

The ritual starts with my husband telling me he’s boiling water and do I want any? The answer is usually yes, very occasionally no, so he has to ask. The water fills the kettle and I hear him push the button down. Slowly the silver kettle gets up to speed, a growing rush of noise that mirrors the growth of that tickle in the back of my mind. The one that says it’s time for caffeine.

I get up from my computer. If it’s later in the morning, the tickle in my brain becomes a more persistent nagging and I realize I’ve spent longer at work than I thought. I walk to the kitchen, heading to the cupboard and get out a mug. One of my two preferred mugs hopefully are clean and waiting for me. If not, I reach for one of the second tier but nonetheless acceptable options.

Next is the coffee itself, waiting in the pantry for me to pour some in to the mug. I smell the grounds and that little voice in my head is now fully awake, eagerly anticipating the pop of the kettle button. I put my mug over by the kettle and wait for the tell-tale click. One of us pours the water, and the smell of coffee fills the room. I give it a quick stir and blow on it.

It’s ready now and I can’t wait for it to cool down enough to enjoy.

Leave a comment